Our Board of Directors

To ensure our focus of ophthalmic health care remains at the core of our activities, at least 50% of Directors appointed to the Board at any one time must be ophthalmic health care professionals.

Dr James Muecke AM Chairman

James is an eye surgeon based in Adelaide. He is a visiting consultant and senior lecturer at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and Women’s and Children’s Hospital. James has a special interest in blindness prevention, ophthalmic research and education in the developing world. James was a co-founder and Director of the Vision Myanmar Program.

He received an ‘Outstanding Service in Prevention of Blindness Award’ by the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology in 2011. He was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in 2012 and received a South Australian Community Achievement Award. In 2015 James was the recipient of the Ernst Young Social Entrepreneur of the Year Award. James delivered the Hollows Lecture at the 2016 RANZCO Congress.

In November 2019, James was announced SA Australian of the Year 2020.

Professor Bob Casson Vice Chair

Bob is an ophthalmic surgeon-scientist with particular interest in glaucoma and ophthalmic epidemiology in the developing world.

He is proud to be a founding Director of Sight For All, where he has the role of Chief Scientific Adviser, with a particular focus on the interface between ophthalmic science and the elimination of preventable blindness in the developing world.

Mr Phil Jaquillard Treasurer

Phil Jaquillard is a partner of Jaquillard Minns Chartered Accountants and a Director of SuperGuardian Pty Ltd. He holds a B Ec from Flinders University and a Post Grad Diploma in Accounting. Phil consults to business on a wide range of matters including taxation, business structures, information technology, wealth management and offshore business.

He is actively involved in charitable projects, including until 2016, as Treasurer for the Mary Potter Foundation in Adelaide, and is a volunteer and advisor to Black Pencil Project in the Philippines.

Mr Gavin O’Callaghan Board Director

Gavin is an optometrist in private practice, a Clinical Senior Lecturer in Ophthalmology at the University of Adelaide and has a visiting appointment at the Contact Lens Clinic at the Royal Adelaide Hospital. 

He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds numerous Director positions. He is a member of the Optometry Council of Australia and New Zealand Examinations Committee, and a member of the University of Melbourne Department of Optometry and Vision Sciences Course Advisory Committee.

Mrs Melissa Emmett Board Director

Melissa is the principal consultant for Emmett Marketing. She has a business degree majoring in marketing from the University of South Australia. For over 30 years her career in marketing and brand management included working with brands such as Snappy Tom, SAFCOL, Balfours, Fauldings and SAFE. 

More recently as a consultant she has worked with SMSF Association, Dressed For Sale, Bedford, Optimistic Kids, Joust and Hands On SA.

Ms Jody Rowe Board Director

Jody Rowe is a specialist in the resources and energy sector who has a strategic view of the market, its needs and potential opportunities for growth. Jody’s career includes executive roles at BG-QGC (Shell) and Santos on mega projects GLNG and QCLNG. Jody is the founder and Chief Executive Officer of Rowe Advisory. As Chief Executive Officer of Rowe Advisory, Jody is a subject matter expert for global business development, services such as human resources and contracts and procurement, mergers and acquisitions and business and strategic advice.

Jody is a Non-Executive Director of Strike Energy, an ASX listed oil and gas exploration company and is a shareholder and Director of companies such as CD Power Pty Ltd, and iPIPE Pty Ltd working with MH Carnegie. Jody is a member of the Safety Leadership Group for the Coal Seam Gas industry Safer Together group. She is a member of the Mining Industry Participation Office Advisory Board for the South Australian Government.

Clin A/Prof Andrew White Board Director

Clin A/Prof Andrew White B.Med.Sci(hons) MBBS PhD FRANZCO is a clinician scientist ophthalmologist at Westmead Hospital. His subspecialty interest is glaucoma. He was awarded First Class Honours in Medical Science in 1995 and a combined MBBS/PhD degree in 2002 from the University of Sydney. He also undertook research work at the Max Plank Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Gottingen, Germany and the State University of New York (SUNY) and the University of Cambridge. 

Andrew is Head of the Department of Ophthalmology at Westmead Hospital in Sydney as well as working in private practice. He has research affiliations with the University of Sydney at both the Save Sight Institute and Westmead Institute for Medical Research where he runs a laboratory developing new treatments for glaucoma. He has been working with Sight For All for a number of years, supervising in-country fellowships in glaucoma.

Mr Jason Karas Board Director

Jason Karas is the co-founder and global leader of Lipman Karas, an international law firm specialising in financial dispute resolution, with offices in Australia, Hong Kong and London. In more than 25 years working as a lawyer, Jason has led some of the most significant corporate litigation and cross-border fraud investigation projects in the Asia Pacific region and internationally. He is a recognised industry leader in the areas of litigation finance, multijurisdictional disputes and cross-border investigations. 

Jason graduated from the University of Adelaide with a bachelor’s degree in Economics and an honours degree in Law. He is a keen amateur tennis player and competitive runner.

David Paterson Director

David Paterson is principal of Cornerstone Strategy, a consultancy specialising in strategy & innovation for purpose-driven organisations. He is the former Chief Innovation Officer of World Vision, Chief Marketing Officer of Medibank Private, and Professor of Innovation & Enterprise at the University of South Australia.

Dr Mark Hassall Director

Mark is an eye surgery trainee in South Australia. He completed Medical School at the University of Adelaide, where he was President of the Adelaide Medical Students’ Society and attained a first-class Honours in Medical Science for his research. He is a Rhodes scholar and holds a doctorate from Oxford University. He is a lecturer at both Flinders University and the University of Adelaide and continues to actively research and publish in Ophthalmology.